L@I process

This forum can be viewed but not be posted to. Visit our new one here.

[ Follow Ups ] [ injuredworker Message Board ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Cherie Haas on June 03, 2001 at 14:02:08:

I got hurt at work in July 2000 ,went to a doctor, he tells me I have a lower lumbar sprain and I will be back to work in 4 days with 30 days worth of narcotics for the pain.Cant drive or function on these meds,Needless to say it's been almost 11 months and I still dont have my life back,I have been to several doctors who dont agree with his diagnosis,having to follow the L@I rules I changed my primary 4 days after my work related injury,my case worker ordered an IME
(Independant Medical Exam ) Twice in 11 months.I read the panthlet L@I put out and it states that they are here to help us injured workers get back to work .Well I got news for you all,My IME was based on the first doctors diagnosis even though we requested it to be based on the primary (which had changed)4 days later,this case worker has been rude /ruthless/and out right disrespectful to me and my husband.We have been through at least 60 people trying to get answers and or help.My x-employer was never any help,my case worker has never been any help,the first doctor I went to go see touched me with a rubber triangle on my knee and and elbow, but some how had a 3 page report on a diagnosis for the IME exam (go figure ) .This case has so many flaws it would make the average person crazy or give up.I went from 170lbs to 260 lbs the state says im MORBIDLY OBESE ,well I wouldnt be if they would have helped me get the proper help in a timly manner,They got away with staying with a QUACK doctors diagnosis and torturing me with all the deniles and trying to blame me for not getting the help I needed when they denied me,with no insurance at the time and fears of collections I tried to buck up and do it on my own.My x- employer (where I got hurt) never once called or extened and sympathy for what happened to me,